Heavenly green, sky blue, and everything in between

The Ionian Islands are located west of the Greek mainland in the Ionian Sea. In Greek the Ionian islands are called "Eptanisa", which means seven islands, called after the main islands of the archipelago, but also a number of smaller islands belong to it. The seven islands are: Corfu, Lefkada, Ithaca, Kefalonia, Paxi, Zakynthos, and Kythira. Except for Lefkada, all Ionian islands have been free from the Ottoman rule, and it is mainly traces of the 400 years of Venetian rule that characterize this region. There are also British influences to see, from the period when the islands were under British protectorate. Generally, the islands are greener than most other Greek islands. The large number of cypress trees here is said to be due to the fact that the Turks have not been cutting them for their shipbuilding. This in contrast to other Greek islands. The green slopes and the azure bays are an artistic setting for island hopping or sailing.

Information and prices on request.

Island hopping on the Cyclades
Island hopping on the Dodecanese
Island hopping on the North Aegean Islands